Back to News

Dr. Alan Steinman Receives Foundation Award

<June 29, 2016> For 17 years, the Community Foundation for Muskegon County has honored the work of its founding president and CEO by presenting the annual Patricia B. Johnson Community Leadership Award to recognize a dynamic individual or organization with visionary leadership and a strong spirit of innovation.

This year, at the Foundation’s 2016 Annual Gathering, Dr. Alan Steinman, director of Grand Valley State University’s Robert B. Annis Water Resources Institute (AWRI), received the prestigious award.

Dr. Steinman joined AWRI in 2001 and, under his leadership, the Institute has developed a prominent profile in the Great Lakes Basin and earned an acclaimed academic reputation. While the AWRI focuses on major Great Lakes issues such as Michigan’s Bluewater Economy and the restoration of Muskegon River and Lake Macatawa watersheds, they are also at the forefront of important research with world-wide implications. They have tackled ambitious research on topics with far-reaching impact such as the anti-cancer properties of aquatic fungi in the Great Lakes and the discovery of unique microbial communities in Lake Huron, which are being used as models for potential life on other planets.

“Over the course of Dr. Steinman’s 15 years in Muskegon, we have acquired a deep understanding of the water that surrounds us, a confidence that we can improve it, and a vision for its potential to build economic prosperity,” said Charles Johnson, II as he presented the award.

“The water is a great natural resource but the people come first,” said Steinman. “Muskegon’s support of our work and, certainly, the distinguished work of past Patricia B. Johnson Award recipients reminds me why I am deeply grateful and proud to call Muskegon my home.”

Past recipients of the Patricia B. Johnson Award include Janene Morrisey and Frank Bednarek, Larry Hines, Dr. Robert Garrison, Ted Operhall, Roger Andersen, Joseph Schulze, Nancy Crandall, Gary Ostrom, Amy Heisser and the Alcoa Foundation, Tanglewood Park, Mike and Kay Olthoff, Roger Spoelman, Linda Juarez, Judy Hayner, Kathy Evans and John McGarry.